Application Process & Criteria

OESF awards scholarships each year to individuals from a variety of disciplines related to the long term care profession, senior housing, gerontology and older adult services. Consideration is given to individuals who are exploring these fields as a possible career choice as well as those currently working in the profession who desire further certification, licensure, or a degree.

There are two main types of Scholarships available through the OESF Scholarship Program.  Utilize the links below to download the appropriate form to submit for the scholarship you are interested in.  Note: You will need Adobe Reader to access this fill-able PDF form which allows you to type in your responses directly on the form and save the file to continue later for a convenient way to submit all necessary documents.  Click here to download the latest version of Adobe Reader

General Studies Scholarships

These $500 scholarships are awarded in two cycles (Spring and Fall) each year to those pursuing further education in any field related to long term care.

General Studies Application – Deadline for application is October 31, 2014


Disciplinary Studies Scholarships

These are available in varying amounts and are awarded annually to individuals based on specific requirements or emphasis as specified in the scholarship criteria. These could include specific fields, such as nursing or social services, a particular quality or skill to be developed, such as leadership or innovative programming, or restricted to geographic areas. Criteria for these scholarships are established by the donors who have made these awards possible through their generous commitments.

  •  Wendell White Scholarship: Candidates must have attained a management position within long term care and have the potential for advancement into greater leadership roles and executive positions. Award Amount $5,000

Wendell White Application - Deadline for application is October 31, 2014


  • Margaret Murphy Carley Scholarship For Nursing Education: Candidates must be a certified nursing assistant currently working in the field of long term care and seeking an LPN, RN, or advanced nursing degree.  Also, candidates must have demonstrated a commitment to quality in their work and a desire to advance their career in the long term care profession.  Award Amount $2,000

Margaret Murphy Carley Application - Deadline for application is October 31, 2014


  • Pinnacle Quality Insight Scholarship: Candidates must be currently working in the field of long term care with a desire to gain additional education to advance their long term care career.

Pinnacle Quality Insight Application – Deadline for application is October 31, 2014


Selection Process

Selection of scholarship recipients will be made by a committee of the Foundation Board and candidates shall be notified in writing.

Bookmark and Share